Dr. Mithun Sharma, Director - Hepatology and Regenerative Medicine | Consultant Transplant Hepatology

Dr Mithun Sharma Consultant Transplant Hepatology

Dr. Mithun Sharma


Director - Hepatology and Regenerative Medicine | Consultant Transplant Hepatology



(Fellowship, Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Singapore General Hospital, Singapore)

Professional Synopsis:

Dr. Mithun Sharma is a renowned senior consultant in the field of Hepatology and liver transplantation & is currently practicing at AIG Hospitals. He is the Director of Hepatology and Regenerative Medicine and Transplant Hepatology. With his huge experience, his expertise in the subject makes him effectively handle the simplest to the most complex of cases in hepatology. He completed his fellowship in Gastroenterology and Hepatology from the prestigious Singapore General Hospital, Singapore, where he was a part of the liver transplantation unit. He completed his MD in Internal Medicine and MBBS from GMCH, Guwahati with distinction. Recently, he has been honored with the Fellowship from the American College of Gastroenterology (FACG). He has numerous highly cited publications in reputed peer-reviewed journals and has made numerous presentations at various national and international conferences. He has also written numerous book chapters in the field of hepatology. He is actively involved in research in the field of Hepatology, particularly in stem cells as well as in non-alcoholic fatty liver diseases. He is the principal investigator for the ongoing research on stem cell use in liver cirrhosis, a project approved by the ICSCR. He also runs the regenerative liver medicine clinic and is actively involved in managing patients pre and post-liver transplantation. He is a member of AASLD, EASL, AGA, ACG, INASL, GESS and ISG.

Areas of Interest:

  • Regenerative therapies in liver cirrhosis.
  • Transplant Hepatology.
  • Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease.
  • Hepatocellular carcinoma.

Accomplishments & Awards

  • Received B Braun Scholar of the Year award in 2006 for excellence in postgraduate medicine in India.
  • Received Medals and Certificates for securing the state merit positions in the all professional MBBS examination.